Plumber builds Jeep (crickets)

ShawnM

In my intro I put some info on what I’m doing here, you can read that if you want. I’ve got a 94 soft top, had it a long time, got pissed off at the hood and painted it, got pissed off at the result so decided to go full-on rattlecan Olive Drab on the whole thing.

One thing led to another and started ordering stuff online like a madman. Fender flares first, then bumpers, hood hardware, body lift. 2” add a spring. Signal lights.

I’m a plumber. Ive never painted. I’ve done minimal mechanical maintenance but I’m no gear head by any stretch. Don’t even have any friends that are, couple old guys I can get advice from I suppose.

But for the most part I’m going in pretty blind. At least I’ve got a brain in my head and can use a measuring tape. I took my time laying out the new fender flares the other day and pretty stoked at how they’re gonna look. Never done body work before but after filling in all the holes from the old flares and a few dings and one dent and replacing one fender I figure I did alright.

Might post a pic or two today. The body’s pretty much ready for primer. Still got some work to do on the doors and windshield, I’ll do that while the body primers curing.

This all reminds me of the first job I ever had, I was on a shovel digging a ditch and the foreman said to me, “Shawn, you dig like you f**k, all enthusiasm and no skill!” So here I am again, all enthusiasm. Fingers crossed I don’t f**k a bunch of s**t up!

Well, fun day. Final sanding, gave ‘er a warsh and primed some plastic bits. Most tedious work? Sanding the hole I filled where the 3rd brake light wire used to stick out. Wee bit of hand sanding there. Zero ventilation in the cold storage room I used as the mini paint booth. Held my breath best I could but jeez, my brain hurts. And apparently you gotta take pics landscape mode or they’re sideways here Chris?

D3853488-7238-4E97-B63C-FAB172033190.jpeg

991F3302-56CB-435B-95F3-4D5310185F8B.jpeg