New Cam, Timing Chain & Head. #1 No Compression

WobWokwood

Greetings.
I have a 1989 YJ 4.2 L with TBI. It was my daily for about 2 years, the. I had it shipped. Jeep didn’t run right, I think the distributor moved somehow and I bent a few valves and pushrods.

Head removed, took to the machine shop. All new valves installed. I also swapped the camshaft and timing chain. Now I have no compression on number one and I’m wondering if I’m 180 out on my cam.

After building it back up, trying to start, backfiring and flamage coming through the throttle body. Not trying to bend valves again.

I ran compression on number, absolutely nothing. Can’t find TDC to begin timing if I have no compression. Pissed if I have to tear it all apart again but I’ll do it to make it right.

I’m an aircraft mechanic by trade, this was my first engine pull and reinstall.

If im not mistaken the 258,2.5 and 4.0 are non interference engines. That being said slipped or a broken timing chain or gears should have not caused valves and pistons to collide but compression would be affected on several cylinders if not all possibly. far as no compression,back firing and fireballs it sounds like the cam and ignition timing is off. Might try removing the rocker assembly which should close all the valves 100% and do a leak down test. That would tell at least if there is a bad valve,gasket or??. Not to be a black cloud,but new and/or rebuilt means a 50/50 change its right. If the leak down comes out good then on to plan B. IIRC Ive read many guys complain about bad timing gear marks which caused timing off 180 degrees. If that's the case you'd have to pull the TC cover off and reset cam to piston position to start and go from there. Forgive any mistakes, er...Ive had a few this afternoon. ;)