Steering wanders

rgirardi

Hi,
I have a 1988 YJ that wonders all over the road which causes me to oversteer. Front end parts are new or have been checked. New steering box, I have rebuilt the steering column and have had an alignment and is in specification. The jeep has a 4 in suspension lift. Has the stabilizer and track bar in. I have driven it with and without track bar in, no difference noticed. There is no play in the front end and no worn parts. The tires are smaller than 33"s (I don't remember the size). I am not sure what to check next. The frame had some rot issues but those pieces have been replaced. I was an auto/truck tech and now I just work on my own stuff. I have never had a front end mystery like this. Any thoughts?
Thanks
Ralph

Shot in the dark here. I know you said no worn out parts… but have you checked for ball joint wear? Most alignment shops will not align with worn out ball joints but never know.

Shot in the dark here. I know you said no worn out parts… but have you checked for ball joint wear? Most alignment shops will not align with worn out ball joints but never know.
Hi, thanks, yes I have checked the ball joints several times just to make sure I am not loosing my mind.

Sounds like you have a gremlin. Sorry man. That kind of stuff frustrates me too.

A YJ has a non-optimal steering linkage design. At 4" lift, the drag link is at quite a steep angle. The tie rod will roll before the drag link will actually begin to move the tie rod enough to steer the wheels. That problem is felt much more noticeably with tall lift. A drop pitman arm can help but it never fully solves the problem.

also if you have taller than stock shackles, they will make the steering feel loose and like it wanders a lot.