Need some help diagnosing my 1987 4.2 YJ

YJ_Holse

Hello, hoping someone could aid in some non start diagnostics.

My 87 Wrangler was my first vehicle, my late father owned it since about 95 and gave it to me when in the early 2000s. He and I worked on the thing quite a bit through the years and I learned what I could at the time so I have some surface level knowledge, mostly enough to get myself in trouble.

Fast forward in life and it ended up sitting under nasty pine trees for about 5 years. I'm in the process of revival and cannot get it running. Drained fuel and replaced with about 8 gallon non-ethenol. Had the Motorcraft 2150 rebuilt and was able to start it, for roughly two smoke and squeal filled seconds until it died. Could not replicate this afterwards. Replaced fuel pump ( it was original to Jeep ), filter, a few rubber hoses and can confirm fuel delivery to cup - did not measure PSI.

I moved to plugs and was not able to produce spark while grounded. The replacer in me decided to do the plugs, wires, cap, rotor, coil, condesor to no avail producing spark. Looked to Solenoid (firewall mounted type) has 11v off the post to coil, connector on post to coil connector is corroded. Coil connector itself (horseshoe style) has frayed wires going in, is corroded and has a small indent to where the coil posts sit. i was only able to find 12v with key on in a few select areas on the connector lead. All of this looks like it needs to be replaced?

I'm curious if I'm even on the right track, if I am to replace the wiring at the solenoid and the connector- its spliced at the loom near the firewall that goes over to ICM ( in assuming all of this is bypassed due to mc2150), can I run just a new, direct wire to avoid this splice and wire that to the two yellows going into a new horseshoe clip? I was reading there is a resistor wire (that I'm unable to locate). This is where it gets a bit unknown for me.