In need of wiring advice

JronATL

Hi guys!

Complete noob to the Jeep world here. In fact, I don't even own this one, but I plan to treat it like I do. My elderly parents have a 1994 4-cylinder YJ that is basically all original. and was used to knock around on the farm. All of their grandkids have learned to drive a stick with it so far, except the youngest. They don't drive anymore, so it's been sitting for a bit.

I want to get it running, and I want to get it running well, but I live several hours away. So my work on it will have to be every couple weeks. Last I drove it--last summer--I took it for a new battery after clearing out the 5" wide hornet's nest on top of the old one.

Last visit, I jumped it off and it died immediately after removing the cables from the connected car. Looking at the wiring, it appears the chipmunks have gotten under the hood now that the wasps aren't there to keep them out, and one of the spark plug wires has been gnawed up pretty good. That's fine. I can replace the spark plugs and wires next time I'm over there.

However, would that keep it from running without a connected car? Before I found that I thought it might need a new alternator, or perhaps some alternator wires I can't see are also chewed.

Does it sound like I need both? I could go out and start replacing things but I have to budget my time very carefully on this--I need to spend time caring for them when I'm there, so I can't spend too much time under the hood each visit.

thoughts??

Sitting a year likely destroyed the battery. As far as it running on 3...it should, but poorly obviously. Fresh gas, a charged battery and a digital multi meter might do wonders on what shape its in electrically.
That’s helpful. Seems like a great place to start.

Well the nest is gone so that should be simpler. Honestly, seeing this pic again, I must have replaced it longer ago than I was remembering.
EE070222-4B62-4F38-8600-DC2C6D838CD1.jpeg