Driveline angles and new vibration

Judy 87YJ

Supporting Member
I had to raise my NP231 transfer case about 3/4” to get it off the skid plate which has 1 3/4” spacers. The two had rubbed a hole in the TC so I installed a new rear half casing. I still have a slip yoke and will upgrade “next bonus” to a SYE. Since I raised the TC, I now have low rpm vibration. My TC is currently at 7.2 degrees and pinion is at 12.5. Driveshaft is at 21. My research is telling me to put a 6 degree shim in at the axle which would be 1
Degree less than the TC ant 7.2. Anybody know what this will make my driveshaft and will it be too much? Am I correct on figuring the shim size ?

How did the pan rub a hole in the case? Trans mount collapsed or? Im no expert on how much is to much but having two end angles more than 1.5 degrees isnt a good thing.

How did the pan rub a hole in the case? Trans mount collapsed or? Im no expert on how much is to much but having two end angles more than 1.5 degrees isnt a good thing.
I think the transmission mount wore out but it didn’t look it. It was spongy though. I replaced the stabilizer while I was there as well. More play than the new one.
I understand the differences should not exceed 3 degrees and it might have been there before the TC raise. Hopefully some one knows approximately what degree my driveshaft will be when I pivot the pinion from 12.5 to 6 degrees. If it will work, I’ll look into the SYE but that’s another day.

IMG_0832.jpeg

IMG_0811.jpeg

Those angles aren't terrible..remember the angles for a conventional driveshaft and a DC drive shaft are different. Im going to try and get Shawn from Tom Wood to jump over here and help

Reactions: Judy 87YJ
Looks like a typical rough country lift which they ship with 6° shims which are only proper for a double cardan driveshaft and slip yoke eliminator setup. You need to change that pinion angle to be more parallel with the tcase output, so around 6-7°.