2.5 running warm at driving speeds

jeepjoe43

YJ Enthusiast
Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi folks,
I've been jeepin for 30 years but I'm new to the YJ.
Had mine for about 3 years now putting less than 100 miles on it as a driveability issue cropped up after lifting it then an electrical Gremlin reared it's head.
My question is this; is it normal for a YJ to run with the guage indicating 210?
It did it on or off road with the factory cooling set-up, and it does it now at driving speeds, 45-50mph with a completely new set-up (haven't had the new off road yet).
The Entire cooling system has been replaced, correct reverse rotation pump, New 3 row aluminum radiator w/shroud and electric fan, hoses, thermostat and sender, still 210.
At idle it will go up to 210 and then drop to the first mark and stay there. Once on the road it goes up to 210 and stays there, never seen it over that mark.
The fan is on a toggle switch, not a thermo-switch.
Could the guage just be out of calibration? VDO did make the guage packages for the YJ, but It is 30 years old.
Any ideas?

For those who might be interested, my Gremlin was the motor breifly cutting out on every bump in the road, but I found the SOB.
Stressed voltage supply wire to the coil plug, I broke it changing the coil and didn't even know it, no problems since repairing it.

I've read two different opinions about making sure there's no air in the engine's cooling system. Some say the air will naturally flow out into the overflow system while others say no, there's a problem and you need to raise the front end higher to burp the trapped air out. If air is trapped the engine will run hot.

Reactions: Chris
I thought that too, especially with the lower radiator hose having that bump to clear the diff, filling it cold it would take more coolant when I pushed it down.
The coolant fluid capacity is 9 quarts or 2.25 gallons and that is almost exactly how much it took, maybe a little more.