I need help with my power steering pump

Alag1983

Supporting Member
So, I’m new to owning Jeeps and recently purchased one that I knew would need a lot of work to bring it up to snuff. I’m trying to do little things right now to keep it running and troubleshoot some problems the previous owner told me about. I’ve been lurking on this forum for the last few weeks soaking up as much knowledge as I can (and there’s a lot!).

I have a 1992 2.5l manual transmission with 193,000 miles on it.

One issue I’m trying to take of right now is replacing the serpentine belt (it was cracking and crumbling just by me slightly twisting it), but I’m having the darnedest time, as things are breaking or not going as planned.

First problem: I broke the tensioner nut while unscrewing the bolt. I’m not sure where to get a replacement and my internet searching skills are failing me. It has two holes facing different directions and the top hole is in a half circle on top of a square. I thought about trying to weld two nuts together that are offset, but I’m still new to welding and don’t trust my skills yet for this type of application. Any help locating a replacement nut or at least telling me what kind of nut it is would be awesome.