Hard steering

kjmagsig

The steering on my 94 Wrangler doesn't feel right. It almost feels as though the power steering isn't working, but it isn't constant. When I turn the wheel it is hard to turn, then it gets easy, then hard again (like the power steering is working intermittently.) There are no noises coming from the pump or steering box, it's full of fluid and there are no bubbles in it, like there may be air in the lines. Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this? If it were constant I would think the steering pump might be failing, or something wrong with the steering box (I am not sure I have my terms right for these, I'm a photographer, not a mechanic...)

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

Does it have a body lift?
The telescoping steering shaft is sometimes frozen when a body lift is installed.
I experienced this with mine when I did my body lift.
Knock the seal out of place, a bit of PB Blaster and then a knock with a hammer after it's had time to soak in.

Yes it does have a lift, but is it a body lift? It's where the springs attach to the frame (unless I misunderstand what this is.) Sorry, I'm a complete noob when it comes to this. And then, where is this seal?

From your description you have a suspension lift, not a body lift. First off let me say if you are not competent in repairs or diagnosis of these things take it to a shop to have them have a look. Simply put a failed steering system or part(s) could be a life changing disaster for you and any passengers.
That being said it could be something as simple as a damaged steering stabilizer if there is one on your rig. Old, no fluid,rusted shaft, bent, something like that. Bad/failed ball joint(s) something of that nature. If you are full of fluid and no whining is taking place when you turn the wheel then Id leas toward something not in the power steering system.