What is it?

kjmagsig

I recently purchased a '94 Wrangler, something I've wanted for many, many years. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Wranglers, though I have had 3 Grand Cherokees and love them. This Wrangler is in pretty rough shape body-wise, but that's what I was looking for to keep the price down. Now for my question.

Under the dash is a cable with a red button on the end of it. The cable pulls in and out. I've traced it to near the right-hand end of the front axle, where it is connected to a box on the axle housing. I've never seen anything like this and have no idea what it is for. The dealership where I purchased it had no idea either. Does anyone have any ideas what it might be? I don't have pictures of it yet, but can take some if needed.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

That’s an aftermarket “posi lock”. The front passenger axle shaft is broken into two pieces and is operated by a vacuum motor from the factory when the transfer case is put into 4WD. The vacuum lines eventually crack and stop operating the motor properly and most of those parts are hard to fix these days. Common solution is to put a posi lock on it and then you engage the axle manually when you shift the transfer case to 4wd.

Very interesting. I've never heard of that before. Is it safe or okay to drive it in 2WD with the posi locked? I only ask because I don't know in which position the posi is locked or unlocked and don't want to damage anything. How do I tell if it's locked or unlocked? And one more question, is the rear end posi as well?

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it!

Yeah it won’t hurt anything. Engaging the posi lock will make the front driveshaft spin. I believe the posi lock is usually engaged when it’s pushed in and disengaged when pulled back out. Not 100% on that though.