Starting issues with 1994 YJ - saftey lock out?

IolaJeeper

I'm no mechanic but I am very handy so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. My '94 Wrangler has had an ongoing issue that seems to have just progressed to the next level. The initial issue was that after turning it off it wouldn't turn over again unless the battery was disconnected and reconnected. I'm assuming this had to do with the computer being rebooted. Instead of tracking that issue down and fixing the problem I did the simple thing and just kept reconnecting the battery every time it wouldn't turn over. This workaround worked flawlessly until yesterday. Yesterday when I reconnected the battery and tried to start, it didn't turn over. Instead, the front right and rear left turn signals started flashing and a sound, almost identical to the turn signal clicking, started. The flashing and toning would continue for a minute or so and then cease. Disconnecting/reconnecting the battery would end the flashing/toning but it would start again as soon as I tried to start it. Again no power to the starter. Note: I can pop start it and it runs fine. Everything else is powered as far as I can tell.

That's an odd one for sure. Any idea where the clicking noise (the one similar to the turn signal) is coming from? any noticeable wire damage anywhere under the dash or hood? YJ's aren't really that complex but a simple electrical short or a bad ground can cause lots of weird issues because the ground path finds somewhere else to go and starts backfeed powering other items.

Reactions: jeepjoe43