Recommend Steering Stabilizer?

Danny H

I’m brand new to the Jeep world and I’m discovering that the rabbit hole runs deep! Does anyone have a recommendation for a steering shock for my 88 YJ? I’m very close to stock and will probably stay there but I do want a better shock that will help with stability and feedback.

First let's get it out of the way that the steering stabilizer (you're calling it a steering shock) does little to nothing. In fact, it does so little that you can take it off your vehicle, go drive around for a week, and you won't notice any difference whatsoever.

It's job is to dampen potentially harsh movements in the steering.

Don't be misled into thinking and of these expensive, aftermarket stabilizers offer any sort of improvement. They do not, and this is a great way to waste money on a problem that doesn't exist, I promise.

If you want something that works well, doesn't cost a ton, and will be everything you need, get one of these:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000C53XRK/?tag=yjforum-20

Yep, that's it! Black, boring, and not as eye catchy as the Fox ones you see all the JK guys running.

But you know what? Those expensive Fox ones do nothing more than this will, I guarantee it. Those guys are capitalizing on a solution to a problem that doesn't exist.

So unless you want to waste your money on the "bling" factor, get that one I mentioned above, throw it on, and your wallet will thank me (y)

Reactions: DOWNS and Flyer58
To add to this, those Fox stabilizers (especially the dual ones) are often so stiff that it makes you have to fight harder to turn the steering wheel (it truly does) and there is speculation as to weather that's harder on your power steering pump 😲

No problem, happy to help (y)

It's money best spent elsewhere.
Just out of curiosity, what if it wasn't?