Looking to bypass the ECU

jstipe5150

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2023
Messages
5
Location
Oklahoma
Anyone know what all I would have to bypass the ECU. Just change mechanical fuel pump and add a standard coil or is there now to it? ECU circuit is bad and replacing it but don’t want to deal with it crapping out again.
 
OP
J

jstipe5150

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2023
Messages
5
Location
Oklahoma
Yes. The circuit that’s burned out controls fuel pump and coil. It was bypassed with a jumper wire but it keeps getting hot and melting the soldier. I wanna put a mechanical fuel pump and standard coil on it so I can bypass that circuit but don’t know if that’s all I have to do or if I need to go carbureted.
 

T-Rex Jeepster

The Unoffendable
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Messages
226
Location
Middle Tennessee
Yes. The circuit that’s burned out controls fuel pump and coil. It was bypassed with a jumper wire but it keeps getting hot and melting the soldier. I wanna put a mechanical fuel pump and standard coil on it so I can bypass that circuit but don’t know if that’s all I have to do or if I need to go carbureted.
I had this EXACT problem while I had the 2.5 in mine...Check your dome light fuse, Trust me...It took me three months to ferret this out...
Mine is a '95 and my dome fuse also had the following circuits tied to it....Fuel Pump/ECU/Main Shut Down Relay...No shit.
Changed it and she fired right up, After I had the ECU gone through...Have an awesome hook up for that if you need it, New Crank Position sensor...
It all came down to a 10 amp fuse in the #10 slot....Your's appears to be your dash lights, So if your dash lights aren't working I'd start with #5 and #10

1674341062479.png
 
OP
J

jstipe5150

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2023
Messages
5
Location
Oklahoma
I had this EXACT problem while I had the 2.5 in mine...Check your dome light fuse, Trust me...It took me three months to ferret this out...
Mine is a '95 and my dome fuse also had the following circuits tied to it....Fuel Pump/ECU/Main Shut Down Relay...No shit.
Changed it and she fired right up, After I had the ECU gone through...Have an awesome hook up for that if you need it, New Crank Position sensor...
It all came down to a 10 amp fuse in the #10 slot....Your's appears to be your dash lights, So if your dash lights aren't working I'd start with #5 and #10

View attachment 120914
I do have issues with the instrument panel (lights flicker and temp gauge is iffy) might be what’s shorting out that circuit.
 
  • Like
Reactions: T-Rex Jeepster
OP
J

jstipe5150

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2023
Messages
5
Location
Oklahoma
My fuse panel was easy to get off the firewall....Might need to check the connection to the fuse slot..........
Well, the Jeep didn’t come with a radio standard and someone wired one in. It comes on when you hits the lights…. Willing to bet they put it on that circuit like dumbasses and it’s causing problems.
 

T-Rex Jeepster

The Unoffendable
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Messages
226
Location
Middle Tennessee
Well, the Jeep didn’t come with a radio standard and someone wired one in. It comes on when you hits the lights…. Willing to bet they put it on that circuit like dumbasses and it’s causing problems.

I worked for Toyota during the advent of EFI....And we got a TON of ECU problems in because people were wiring into any power circuit they could find for lights, Amps etc. And the circuits they tapped into that were ECU sensor power/ground circuits and threw off the "Balance" of the circuit. Causing the ECU to react to what it thought was a problem by reading the change of amperage in said circuit. I'd strip all added wiring as a start and see if that helps.