Dashboard illumination doesn't turn off

Late2thashow

Hey guys. I’m new to the jeep world. Just bought my first jeep. 1993 YJ. Drove home tonight and when I killed the engine I noticed the dash lights didn’t go off. Checked fuses. None blown but ended up removing the dash illumination fuse to kill the lights. Any ideas where to start looking?

No. Wasn’t dark when I arrived home. Didn’t use headlights coming home. Just dark enough to notice the dash lights.
Sorry for the confusion.

Gauge illumination begins at the Park/Tail 20 amp fuse which goes directly to the Headlight/Parking Light switch panel. The gauge power comes directly from the Parking Light Position Switch (split switch for parking lights also supplies power to the gauge lights). On my 1990 YJ, the ONLY DC power source for gauge illumination is through the Parking Light Switch. With the Parking Light Switch ON, the power is wired directly to the Illumination Rheostat switch (wheel). Here's where it gets a little touchy. This Rheostat controls two functions, 1.) the brightness of the gauge lights through a variable resistor, and 2) provides a path to ground for the interior (dome) lights, but only when the wheel is rotated to the full bright/ON position. The dome lights always have power at the light bulbs, so the rheostat switch AND/OR the "Door Open" switches in the door jams close to complete a path to ground.