Confused about transmission.

ArkyPaul

Supporting Member
The attached photo shows a top view of the 5 speed transmission on our 98' Yj, 4.2L. I'm trying to identify what type of trans this is. It has become extreamly difficult to get it into gear. I'm new to Jeeps and looking for a little input to get me headed in the right direction for a repair.

20221022_182918.jpg

I think you meant 1989 vs 1998. Based on the picture you have the Peugeot BA10/5, used in 1997-1989 4.2L YJs. It is highly regarded as a piece of junk, although many of them are still rolling around. They just shifted poorly and we’re much more likely to break than the later transmissions like the 1990-1999 Aisin Warner AX15.

You can switch to the AX15 but it’s expensive and time consuming with lots of parts.

Correct on the typo...it's 89'. Certainly not the news we were hoping for, but appreciated none the less. A little surfing showed a couple of suggestions that the shifter itself can be readjusted and maybe give a few more miles. Will give that a try...and start saving up for a swap next Spring if necessary. Thanks for the input...and if you run across any more info specific to this problem I surely would appreciate being updated.

Correct on the typo...it's 89'. Certainly not the news we were hoping for, but appreciated none the less. A little surfing showed a couple of suggestions that the shifter itself can be readjusted and maybe give a few more miles. Will give that a try...and start saving up for a swap next Spring if necessary. Thanks for the input...and if you run across any more info specific to this problem I surely would appreciate being updated.